State Authorization

Oak Point University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. In addition to comprehensive, university-wide accreditation, many of Oak Point’s individual academic units and programs fall under the purview of specialized program accreditors.

State Authorization

State and federal laws require colleges and universities to be authorized to offer online degree programs and courses to out-of-state students. The state of Illinois is a member of the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA), and Oak Point University is an approved NC-SARA institution. NC-SARA is intended to ease the work load of institutions seeking authorization to deliver online programs in other states.  The goal of NC-SARA is to “establish comparable national standards for the interstate offering of postsecondary distance education courses and programs.” NC-SARA allows easier access to online programs for out-of-state students.

NC-SARA Member States and Territories

As of August 2017, 49 states (excluding California), the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands are participating in NC-SARA. As a result, Oak Point is able to deliver distance education offerings to residents within participating states and territories.

Note to Prospective Students: Oak Point University is working toward meeting the federal requirement of determining if our professional licensure programs meet the requirements in the 50 states and U.S. territories. If the online program you are considering requires a professional license in your home state, we strongly encourage you to reach out to the appropriate licensing agency in your home state before enrolling in an academic program outside of your home state. 

Important updates regarding the Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19).